Trion Worlds, developers of href=""> style="font-style: italic;">Rift: Planes of Telara,
have been hinting at a robust and " href="">really
cool" class system for some time. Today at E3 2010,
Trion revealed Rift's tree-like
Soul Attunement system. Player characters represent the soul of a
fallen Telaran, and at creation choose from one of four callings:
Warrior, Cleric, Mage and Rogue. And while those archetypes may sound
all too familiar, there appears to be more to style="font-style: italic;">Rift than meets
first glance.

From the official site:

Soul Tree

attuned soul grants players access to a unique "Soul Tree," which
contains all of the traits and abilities that a soul had mastered
during its life. As your character levels up, you earn soul points that
can be used to improve that tree's soul level, granting players access
to even more powerful traits and abilities.

Sound like World of Warcraft's Talent Tree? The similarities are hard
to deny, but the official site also reveals the ability to unlock and
attune up to three additional souls, allowing for a vast variety of

Check out style="font-style: italic;">Rift's new Classes
& Callings page
, as well as the href="">details
of the class system to learn more about what style="font-style: italic;">Rift brings to the
table. Deep and virtually endless customization, or a new spin on the
same ol' same? You make the call, and tell us your thoughts.

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our RIFT Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2016

About The Author

Karen 1
Karen is H.D.i.C. (Head Druid in Charge) at EQHammer. She likes chocolate chip pancakes, warm hugs, gaming so late that it's early, and rooting things and covering them with bees. Don't read her Ten Ton Hammer column every Tuesday. Or the EQHammer one every Thursday, either.