Trion Reveals Class System for Rift: Planes of Telara

Trion Worlds, developers of Rift: Planes of Telara, have been hinting at a robust and "
Trion Worlds, developers of Rift: Planes of Telara, have been hinting at a robust and "really cool" class system for some time. Today at E3 2010, Trion revealed Rift's tree-like Soul Attunement system. Player characters represent the soul of a fallen Telaran, and at creation choose from one of four callings: Warrior, Cleric, Mage and Rogue. And while those archetypes may sound all too familiar, there appears to be more to Rift than meets first glance.

From the official site:

The Soul Tree

Each attuned soul grants players access to a unique "Soul Tree," which contains all of the traits and abilities that a soul had mastered during its life. As your character levels up, you earn soul points that can be used to improve that tree's soul level, granting players access to even more powerful traits and abilities.

Sound like World of Warcraft's Talent Tree? The similarities are hard to deny, but the official site also reveals the ability to unlock and attune up to three additional souls, allowing for a vast variety of combinations.

Check out Rift's new Classes & Callings page, as well as the details of the class system to learn more about what Rift brings to the table. Deep and virtually endless customization, or a new spin on the same ol' same? You make the call, and tell us your thoughts.

About the Author

Karen is H.D.i.C. (Head Druid in Charge) at EQHammer. She likes chocolate chip pancakes, warm hugs, gaming so late that it's early, and rooting things and covering them with bees. Don't read her Ten Ton Hammer column every Tuesday. Or the EQHammer one every Thursday, either.
Last Updated:

Around the Web