alt="Heroes of the Storm" />

Heroes of the Storm, Blizzard's online team
brawler game, brings us some of the most iconic and best-loved characters
from the Warcraft, Diablo, and Starcraft universes. Each of these
well-known Heroes is classified into one of four distinct categories:
Assassin, Support, Warrior, or Specialist. Depending on which category a
Hero belongs to will determine what role that Hero will play inside the
game. Each type of Hero has a special place of their own to fit into the
intense game battles.

With that in mind, it is easy to just pick a
Hero without thinking much about these categories. In fact, most of us
will simply pick our favorite Hero, regardless of what he or she does.
However, choosing a Hero in a category that fits your personal play style
is essential to your enjoyment of the game. For example, if you like
charging directly into battle, you don't want a Hero who is made to hide
in the background. Or if you prefer healing, you don't want to pick a
character who is solely made for damage.

Read onward to have these categories explained
so that you can feel confident in choosing the perfect Hero type for you.


Assassins are the damage dealers in Heroes of
the Storm. They have the potential to do massive amounts of damage.
However, true to the Assassin name, they don't just jump head first into
battle. Instead the Assassin sits back and waits. Carefully picking their
target before rushing forth and systematically destroying them.

Despite the large amounts of damage this Hero
type pumps out, they also have a weakness. In a trade for their huge
damage, Assassins have very low health and resistance. They are also inept
at damaging multiple targets, being better suited for one on one combat.
This leaves them very vulnerable if they get stuck in a sticky situation
and is another reason the Assassin takes his or her time before attacking.

alt="Tychus" />

The eight Assassins available in Heroes of the
Storm are:

  • Demon Hunter
  • Illidan
  • Falstad
  • Nova
  • Kerrigan
  • Raynor
  • Tychus
  • Zeratul


Heroes who are considered Supports do exactly
what you would expect them to do, support their team in battle. Support
Heroes offer up various spells that help to keep your team alive. Healing
spells, shields, buffs, and crowd control are all abilities common to a
Support Hero.

Support Heroes are able to do damage, however,
it is minimal. Instead players who choose these Heroes can expect to spend
their time staying out of the way of combat. With that being said, Support
Heroes are essential to any team and staying close your your allies to
back them up with your abilities is all important. How well you play your
Support Hero could very well determine if your team wins or loses a match.

alt="Uther" />

There are currently six Support type Heroes in

  • Brightwing
  • Tyrande
  • Li Li
  • Malfurion
  • Uther
  • Tassandar


Those Heroes that fall into the Warrior
category are, like the Assassin, damage dealing characters. However,
unlike the Assassin, these rough and tumble Heroes deal damage in a
different way. With huge amounts of health and resistance, Warriors run
into battle and disrupt the fighting. Drawing attention onto themselves,
thus keeping the rest of the team (especially those more squishy Heroes)
out of harm's way.

Warriors are really the tanks of Heroes of the
Storm. They are all that stands between enemies and allies. Playing this
character type will ensure you are almost always on the front lines of
battle, bring destruction down on the heads of all those who stand to
oppose you.

alt="ETC" />

Heroes of the Storm currently boasts six
Warrior Heroes:

  • Diablo
  • Arthas
  • Elite Tauren Chieftain
  • Muradin
  • Tyrael
  • Stitches


Specialists are unique in that they, according
to Blizzard, do not fit into any other role. Specialists are utility
characters, however, they provide back up to their team in ways that
Support Heroes cannot. They can do massive damage to towers and bases,
provide buffs, and even take over other characters to help the team.
Filled with interesting and unusual abilities, Specialists can be played
in many different ways, all of which effectively strengthen a team.

alt="Abathur" />

Specialists found in Heroes of the Storm

  • Zagara
  • Murky
  • Gazlowe
  • Abathur
  • Sgt. Hammer
  • Witch Doctor

Now that you know more about the Hero types
inside the game, it is time for you to pick your Hero. Keep in mind, each
Hero inside each of these categories have their own distinct abilities and
skills. It is a good idea to try out every Hero inside each of these
categories to make sure you find the best one suited to your personal play
style. Now get playing!

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our Heroes of the Storm Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 29, 2016

About The Author

Amunet, also fondly known as Memtron, is an organic life form best known for its ongoing obsession with Blizzard Entertainment's numerous properties. To that end, Amu has authored hundreds (thousands?) of the most popular World of Warcraft guides, editorials, and Top 10 lists on the planet. When not gaming and writing, Amu is busy chasing after her three children in a perpetual loop of ongoing disaster.