The Sorcerer

The Sorcerer class follows a very natural path of progression from href="" target="_blank">the
Mage archetype. Rather than
being saddled with the same old spells and
a spiffy new pet like the Spiritmaster, you can now focus all of your
efforts into bending the weave of the universe to your will. The
destruction you were able to wreak as a mere mortal mage
doesn’t remotely compare to the hell you’ll learn
to unleash upon your foes as an immortal Sorcerer.  

style="margin: 10px; border-collapse: collapse; float: right; height: 260px;"
target="_blank"> style="border: 2px solid ; height: 260px;"
src="/image/view/70288/preview" alt="">


Extremely high DPS (ranged)

Multiple "Get out of jail free" abilities

Less gear dependent than other archetypes


Very slow auto attack

Hobos have better armor

Slow mana regeneration

to still live by

"Kill or be killed... quickly."

Yay! I’m a
Sorcerer… now gimmee.

The first thing you’ll receive is your choice of a new
weapon. Up until now, you’ve been forced to flip open a
spellbook, waggle your fingers, and zap some enemies. Now you can
choose between another spellbook and a new weapon type: an orb.

Given all the information available to you in the description of both,
it looks as though you would be a fool not to choose the Orb of Karma.
The Orb does more damage, has better stats (minus the Magical
Accuracy), and let’s face facts; everyone likes to play with
something new.

Sounds great, right? Guess what though. You should take the Spellbook
of Karma instead. On paper, this looks like a boneheaded idea of the
first order. There’s just one disturbing little fact the
description of both items fails to mention. The Orb is a close range
(as in melee distance) weapon. This works perfectly for a Spiritmaster,
but for the Sorcerer, it’s a near-suicidal mistake. The
Spellbook is a ranged weapon, just like you’ve been using all
along, so grab it and be happy.

Where Are My New Spells?

Once the thrill and excitement of your recent ascension wears off,
you’ll quickly begin to realize you’re little more
than a glorified Mage at this stage of your development. While you may
not get a lot of new spells, you have grown in power so don’t
get too depressed. The treasures of the future are just around the

At level 10, your method of hunting should not vary at all from your
days as a Mage. Even though you’re using the same techniques,
you do have a couple of new abilities (Herb and Mana Treatments) to do
it with. Flame Bolt II is an upgraded version of Flame Bolt I (duh!)
and packs a meaner punch. It works exactly the same way and will also
trigger your Blaze chain attack.

style="margin: 10px; border-collapse: collapse; float: right; width: 200px;"
target="_blank"> src="/image/view/70347/preview"
style="border: 2px solid ; width: 200px;">

The only new spell you get is Sleep I. Just as it implies, it forces a
target to sleep for 20 seconds and damage will not wake them up.
get too excited about being able to beat up on your helpless enemy as
he snoozes though because it also greatly increases *all* of their
Elemental Defenses and guess who causes absolutely nothing but
elemental damage? That’s right… you.

So what good is the Sleep spell at all then? This is the first viable
crowd control spell you receive. It has a relatively low cooldown time
(15 seconds) and is perfect for splitting those paired up mobs. Cast
sleep on one target and then cool the heels of the other one to slow
him and commence the beatdown. They may get a hit or two on you before
they go down, but that’s why you have Stone Skin up.
Don’t forget to keep your Mage hunting techniques going!

By the time you finish the mob, the one you put to sleep should have
just arrived. Put them to sleep again and get some distance between
you. Once you’ve made it to your optimal range (25 meters
most of the time), spin around and wait. There’s no sense in
casting anything on Sleeping Beauty until your Sleep spell (and all
those increased Elemental Defenses) have worn off. Sure,
you’ll do some damage, but it won’t amount to
anything worth writing home about, so use the few seconds you have to
gain some mana while you wait. Once they wake, go proceed to lay the
smackdown on their candy ass.

Unleashing Your Inner Demon
(or Angel)

That’s all well and good up until this point, but
where’s the *power*? Level 13 is where it begins, and it only
gets better from there. The mantra I’ve tried to drill into
your head is range, range, and more range. You are not a tank and are
squishier than any other class in the game, including your counterpart,
the Spiritmaster.

With that in mind, Blind Leap I is going to become your best friend.
It’s an instant cast 15 meter teleportation spell. For the
Dungeons & Dragons pen and paper players of old, think of it as
Blink, but with some direction. That direction is backwards. It sounds
(and is) terrific, but always remember to be aware of your surroundings
or you’re going to jump back into a bigger pack of monsters
than the one you were trying to get some distance on.

Along with Blind Leap, you’ll get a spell upgrade, a new
buff, and my personal favorite in the form of a direct damage spell.
Imagine being able to shoot your enemies with a harpoon. Now imagine
that harpoon is made out of flames! Flame Harpoon I is just that and
packs a mean punch to boot. 430 points of fire damage with a 2 second
cast and only a 6 second cooldown time.


At level 16 and later you’ll start getting fire DOTs (Damage
Over Time spells), water-based AoEs (Area of Effect spells), and a
delayed blast fireball with Delayed Blast I. This is all before level

All this power and far, far more will be at your beck and call if you
select the Sorcerer class. Let the Spiritmaster have his summoned
lackey. You know the true meaning of death, destruction, and the
pursuit of happiness. Now it’s time for the rest of the world
to find out.

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our Aion Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2016