Worgen (Alliance)

Available Classes: Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior

Starting Zone: Gilneas (Pre-Shattering)

Worgen are the new Alliance race that is being introduced in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm. Worgens, as a playable race, are the Humans of Gilneas who fell under the curse created by Night Elves many ages ago. They are the only race that has two forms, one Human and one werewolf, and can be a multitude of classes including Druid.

Worgen Introduction provides a ton of information about the new class.

Racial Abilities

Worgen come with six unique abilities:

  • Aberration: Reduces the duration of all curses and diseases used against you by 15%.
  • Darkflight: Activates your true form, increasing movement speed by 70% for 10 sec.
  • Flayer: Skinning skill increased by 15 and allows you to skin 0.5 seconds faster.
  • Running Wild: Drop to all fours to run as fast as a wild animal (racial mount).
  • Two Forms: Transforms you between human and worgen forms. You will revert to worgen form in combat.
  • Viciousness:  Increases critical strike chance by 1%.

Their abilities compliment every class. They get a natural 10 second sprint, 1% critical strike by default, and curse/disease mitigation which is a great asset in PvP.


Worgen can be the following classes:

They excel at every class, since their racial abilities give them abilities that help DPS (1% critical strike), catching up to or running away from enemies (sprint), and natural PvP survival with 15% less Curses/Disease. If you like the race then there is no reason not to pick them for any of the classes they can be.

Two Forms

Worgen have Human and Worgen appearances and both can be customized at character creation. Worgen can switch freely between their wolf form and their Human form, except in certain situations. Whenever a Worgen enters combat they will immediately switch to their wolf form. They also will switch to their wolf form whenever they use Darkflight or Running Wild.

Starting Area

A phased version of Gilneas is used as the Worgen starting zone taking players from levels 1-20. You start out within the city dealing with the Gilneas civil war and around level six make your way outside dealing with the Worgen curse and the Forsaken invasion.

Worgen Starting Zone Guide


A long time ago there was a secret druidic sect that followed the god Goldrinn (also known as Lo’Gosh) which allowed them to shapeshift into Wolves. However, the violent nature made them go insane and lose their mind. The other Druids locked them away until Arugal and Velinde Starsong used magic/the Scythe of Elune to summon the Worgen from their imprisonment.

In Gilneas, you go through a long series of quests where the player discovers the curse affecting Gilneas. Random citizens are turning into the cursed Worgen and going insane while the Scourge stand outside their wall attempting to break in. The adventurer is wounded by a Worgen and given the curse and is eventually captured and sentenced to death until the Forsaken begin their attack and a temporary cure is administered.


Worgen Introduction

Worgen Starting Zone Guide

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our World of Warcraft Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2016

About The Author

Xerin 1
Get in the bush with David "Xerin" Piner as he leverages his spectacular insanity to ask the serious questions such as is Master Yi and Illidan the same person? What's for dinner? What are ways to elevate your gaming experience? David's column, Respawn, is updated near daily with some of the coolest things you'll read online, while David tackles ways to improve the game experience across the board with various hype guides to cool games.


Related Content

54 professions square
Patch 5.4 Profession Changes